The project

Cause of Death: Seeking Refuge. An Incomplete List. – The Project

In the past 25 years over 35,000 people seeking refuge in Europe have died on their way there or when they arrived.

On the occasion of International Human Rights Day on December 10, 2018, we want to publish the list of the dead (the documented cases) in book form. The list was compiled by the organization UNITED for Intercultural Action in Amsterdam. Most of the deceased are unnamed. Survivors have given us some names that we have also included. Our intention is to cast a light on the people that they were to help others better grasp the scale of this tragedy – and to grant the debate about refugees and death a human face.

The book spanning more than 300 pages is supplemented by short portraits of some of the deceased, survivor reports and contributions from prominent supporters of the project.

The first edition will have a print run of 10,000 copies. On December 10, 2018 it will be distributed at no cost to associations, initiatives and projects, but also to retail stores, in order to reach as many people as possible. After December 10, the book will be sold for 5 euros each.

On the weekend before International Human Rights Day, we want to encourage all faiths to pray for the people on the list. On International Human Rights Day, we would like to initiate marathon readings of the list in theaters and other events.

The List

The Europe-wide network UNITED for Intercultural Action, based in Amsterdam, has been keeping the list of proven cases of people fleeing to or already in Europe since 1993. The organization runs the list under the heading of “documented deaths of refugees and migrants due to the restrictive policies of ‘Fortress Europe’.” UNITED consists of 550 organizations from 48 countries – the support of these organizations makes it possible to continue the list.

The Turkish artist Banu Cennetoğlu has contributed significantly to the visualization and publication of the list since 2007. She suggested that the list be published in the German edition of the Berlin newspaper Tagesspiegel in 2017 and in the English edition of the British newspaper The Guardian in 2018. And she has had the list put on display in many European cities, most recently in Liverpool during the Biennale of Contemporary Art.

The Book (available in German only)

Kristina Milz + Anja Tuckermann (Hrsg.):
Todesursache: Flucht. Eine unvollständige Liste

Hirnkost 2018

ISBNs:
978-3-947380-29-9 print
978-3-947380-30-5 epub
978-3-947380-31-2 pdf

The Initiators

Kristina Milz, born in 1988, is an award-winning freelance writer and historian. She divides her time as a writer between Munich, Berlin and the Middle East.

Anja Tuckermann, born in 1961, is an author who has written novels, stories, theater pieces, libretti and picture books. Her work has won multiple awards and has been translated into 13 languages.

The Publishing House

The publishing house Hirnkost Verlag was founded in 2003 by the Archive of Youth Cultures and is still owned by association members, authors and the foundation Respekt!. Its publications focus on youth and subcultures along with issues relating to migration and refugees.

The Campaign

The project blog offers background information about the topic and the project itself, publishing statements from supporters and listing multiple partners, bookselling locations and more.

In order to support the project, we have started a crowdfunding campaign through which books, etc. can be pre-ordered. You can also view a video by both project initiators here.

Our Message

Instead of yelling at each other left and right, we need to enter into a dialogue in order to live together peacefully in a society filled with different opinions. We can and must talk about a lot of things, but we have to do it in a language that respects the dignity of everyone involved. A true dialogue only works if everyone uses respectful language. Human beings are human beings. You cannot call them anything else. We need to understand each other and do everything we can to maintain the integrity of our society and what it stands for: a compromise between security and freedom with which everyone can live.

We must openly agree on the fact that the dignity of human beings is inalienable. That applies to every human being. And human rights are not negotiable. People in need of protection need to be protected. It is universal. People in mortal danger must be saved. If the alternative to saving dying people means their death, it is not an alternative we can discuss. The rule of law must be predictable and reliable. And that law may not be bypassed, bent or broken.
We can only enter into a constructive dialogue and move forward in the question of how our coexistence can succeed if we respect these principles. What do we have to do for it? What must we demand in order to get it?

Our Goal

We want the debate about refugees and migration to be guided once again with respect for the people affected by it, a debate that we must also carry on with them.

We want to return to the conversation about the essential things that will help us get along together in this country.

We want to ignite a Germany-wide, better yet a European-wide discussion.

We want to involve in the dialogue all organizations and initiatives that stand up for human rights. We want to involve all denominations and religions. We want to keep party politics out of it.

The Reason for Translation

We are translating our project description into many languages – the languages of our European neighbors and as many native languages as possible of the people who have fled to Europe. We want you to know about our project. You can reach us via flucht@hirnkost.de. Unfortunately, because we are a small team, we can only respond to emails in German, English, Greek and French.

Das Projekt

Todesursache: Flucht. Eine unvollständige Liste – das Projekt

In den vergangenen 25 Jahren sind mehr als 35.000 Menschen auf der Flucht nach und in Europa ums Leben gekommen.

Zum Internationalen Tag der Menschenrechte am 10. Dezember 2018 wollen wir die Liste der Toten (die belegten Fälle) in Buchform herausgeben. Zusammengestellt wurde die Liste von der Organisation UNITED for Intercultural Action in Amsterdam. Die meisten Toten sind ohne Namen verzeichnet. Überlebende haben uns einige Namen genannt, die wir einfügen. Wir wollen die Menschen, die sie waren, dem Vergessen entreißen, um das Ausmaß dieser Tragödie besser zu fassen zu bekommen – und der Debatte um Flucht und Tod wieder ein menschliches Antlitz geben.

Die mehr als 300 Buchseiten umfassende Liste wird um kurze Porträts von einigen der Gestorbenen, Berichte von Überlebenden und Beiträge von prominenten Unterstützer*innen des Projekts ergänzt.

Das Buch soll in einer Startauflage von mindestens 10.000 Exemplaren gedruckt und am 10. Dezember 2018 von Verbänden, Initiativen und Projekten, aber auch im Handel kostenlos verteilt werden, um möglichst viele Menschen zu erreichen. Nach dem 10. Dezember soll es für 5,- Euro verkauft werden.

Am Wochenende vor dem Internationalen Tag der Menschenrechte möchten wir alle Glaubensrichtungen zu Andachten für die Menschen auf der Liste anregen. Am Internationalen Tag der Menschenrechte möchten wir Marathonlesungen der Liste in Theaterhäusern und andere Veranstaltungen initiieren.

Die Liste

Das europaweite Netzwerk UNITED for Intercultural Action mit Sitz in Amsterdam führt die Liste der belegten Fälle der auf der Flucht nach und in Europa gestorbenen Menschen seit 1993. Die Organisation führt die Liste unter dem Titel der „Asylsuchenden, Geflüchteten und Migrant*innen, die aufgrund der restriktiven Politik der Festung Europa zu Tode kamen“. UNITED besteht aus 550 Organisationen aus 48 europäischen Ländern – die Unterstützung dieser Organisationen macht es möglich, die Liste weiterzuführen.

Wesentlich zur Sichtbarmachung und Veröffentlichung der Liste trägt seit 2007 die türkische Künstlerin Banu Cennetoğlu bei. Sie hat die Veröffentlichung der deutschen Ausgabe beim Berliner Tagesspiegel 2017 und der englischen Ausgabe beim britischen Guardian 2018 angeregt und möglich gemacht. Und sie hat die Liste in viele Städten Europas, zuletzt in Liverpool während der Biennale für Zeitgenössische Kunst, plakatieren lassen.

Das Buch

Kristina Milz + Anja Tuckermann (Hrsg.):
Todesursache: Flucht. Eine unvollständige Liste
Hirnkost 2018

ISBNs:

978-3-947380-29-9 print
978-3-947380-30-5 epub
978-3-947380-31-2 pdf

Die Initiatorinnen

Kristina Milz, Jahrgang 1988, ist freie Journalistin und Historikerin. Sie lebt und schreibt zwischen München, Berlin und Nahost. Für ihre Arbeiten erhielt sie Preise und Stipendien.

Anja Tuckermann, geboren 1961, ist Autorin von Romanen, Erzählungen, Theaterstücken, Libretti und Bilderbüchern. Ihr Werk wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet und in 13 Sprachen übersetzt.

Der Verlag

Der Hirnkost Verlag wurde 2003 vom Archiv der Jugendkulturen gegründet und ist heute noch im Besitz von Vereinsmitgliedern, Autor*innen und der Stiftung Respekt!. Seine Publikationsschwerpunkte sind neben Jugend- und Subkulturen die Themen Migration und Flucht.

Die Kampagne

Der Projekt-Blog bietet Hintergrundinformationen zum Thema und zum Projekt selbst, veröffentlicht Unterstützer*innenstatements und listet sämtliche Partner*innen, Verkaufsstellen usw. auf.

Zur Unterstützung des Projektes haben wir eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne gestartet, in deren Rahmen auch Bücher u. a. vorbestellt werden können. Hier findet Ihr auch ein Video der beiden Initiatorinnen zum Projekt.

Unsere Botschaft

Anstatt uns von rechts und links anzuschreien, müssen wir in einen Dialog treten, um in unserer Gesellschaft mit unseren unterschiedlichen Meinungen friedlich zusammenleben zu können. Wir können und müssen über vieles reden, aber wir müssen dies in einer Sprache tun, die die Würde aller Beteiligten achtet. Ein echter Dialog funktioniert nur, wenn alle eine respektvolle Sprache verwenden. Menschen sind Menschen, als nichts anderes kann man sie bezeichnen. Wir müssen füreinander Verständnis aufbringen und alles dafür tun, dass unsere Gesellschaft das bleibt, wofür wir sie schätzen: Ein Kompromiss zwischen Sicherheit und Freiheit, mit dem alle leben können.

Wir müssen uns offenbar wieder darauf einigen, dass die Würde des Menschen unantastbar ist. Das gilt für jeden Menschen. Und die Menschenrechte sind nicht verhandelbar. Schutzbedürftige Menschen müssen geschützt werden, das gilt universell. Menschen in Lebensgefahr müssen gerettet werden. Wenn die Alternative zur Rettung von sterbenden Menschen deren Tod bedeutet, ist es keine Alternative, über die wir diskutieren dürfen. Der Rechtsstaat muss berechenbar und verlässlich sein. Recht darf nicht umgangen oder gebeugt werden.

Nur, wenn wir diese Grundsätze achten, können wir in einen konstruktiven Dialog treten und in der Frage weiterkommen, wie unser Zusammenleben gelingen kann. Was müssen wir dafür tun, was können wir dafür einfordern?

Unser Ziel

Wir wollen, dass die Debatte um Flucht und Migration wieder mit Respekt vor den betroffenen Menschen und mit ihnen geführt wird.

Wir wollen, dass endlich wieder über die wesentlichen Dinge, die unser Zusammenleben in diesem Land weiterbringen, gesprochen wird.

Wir wollen eine deutschland-, besser noch eine europaweite Diskussion anregen.

Wir wollen alle Organisationen und Initiativen in den Dialog einbinden, die sich für Menschenrechte stark machen. Wir wollen alle Konfessionen und Religionen mit einbinden. Wir wollen Parteipolitik raushalten.

Warum wir übersetzen

Unsere Projektbeschreibung übersetzen wir in viele Sprachen – die Sprachen unserer europäischen Nachbarn und möglichst viele Muttersprachen der Menschen, die nach Europa geflohen sind. Wir möchten, dass sie sich über unser Projekt informieren können. Sie können uns über flucht@hirnkost.de erreichen. Weil wir ein kleines Team sind, können wir leider nur auf E-Mails in deutscher, englischer, griechischer und französischer Sprache reagieren.